Friday, December 2, 2022

Sen. Jarigbe Agom’s Convoy Attacked As INEC Declares APC’s Jude Ngaji Winner Of Ogoja/Yala Federal Constituency Bye-election

Senator representing Cross River North, Jarigbe Agom’s convoy was attacked in Igoli, Ogoja Cross River State by government thugs.

Armed security men have also stormed various wards in Yala 2 and they’ve destroyed election results.

A source at the scene of the incident alleged that the attack was aimed at replacing the election results with Fake ones.

The attack came after the senator raised alarm that election materials were being hijacked by political thugs.


He had said in a statement:

“My attention has been drawn to the imbecility displayed by some State Actors in the on-going Ogoja/ Yala Federal Constituency By- Election. I appeal to all members/ supporters of PDP to remain calm, as we call on the Heads of the various Security Agencies to intervene, because the DPO of Beteriku in Boki LGA, Supol Inyang is leading the Squad that is hijacking materials and firing live ammunitions in the Mbube area of Ogoja LGA.

Materials for Polling Unit 008 in Mbube West, Ward 1, have been carted away by the team, headed by Supol Inyang, as directed by some APC political weaklings.

We need an immediate intervention by the Security Heads, please. We do not want bloodshed.”

Meanwhile, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, (APC) in Cross River State, Jude Ogbeche Ngaji has emerged winner of the Ogoja/Yala Federal Constituency bye election.


The APC candidate who emerged in a fierce contest pulled 22,778 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Mike Usibe of the PDP who came second with 20,590 votes.

At the state level, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Ekeng Effiom Edet emerged winner at the Akpabuyo state Constituency bye election. Ekeng scored a total of 5,866 votes to defeat the candidate of the APC.

The Ogoja/Yala Federal Constituency seat was declared vacant by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, following the resignation of its former occupant, Jarigbe Agom who also won a bye-election at the upper chambers of the national assembly.

Ekeng, the winner of the Akpabuyo Constituency bye-election will replace the late Hon. Elizabeth Ironbar in the House of Assembly. Hon. Ironbar who was also a member of PDP, passed away late last year after a brief illness.


Leave a Reply

Latest Articles